When you first set up a Microsoft OneNote class notebook for your students, you get a few really useful sections created as standard. These include a collaboration space tp allow students to create content together, and a content library which allows the teacher to create and share content, but is read-only for teachers.
But sometimes you need an area that is only accessible to teachers. Maybe you want to mark work before sharing it with students, store notes on student progress, or build up teaching resources that you don’t want students to have access to just yet.
The teacher-only section allows you to do just that, but you have to manually enable it for each of your class OneNotes. Once set up, the teacher-only section creates a private area that only teachers of your Microsoft Teams class can access within your class OneNote.
This only works for class OneNote notebooks, and will not work with standard OneNote documents.
To create a teacher only section, do the following:
- Open the OneNote app and click Class Notebook > Manage Notebooks.
- This will open your web browser and show you the OneNote management page. Click Enable Teacher-Only section group. You cannot disable the Teacher-Only section once it has been enabled.
- Once enabled the page will show the following:
- Give your OneNote a couple of minutes to sync and your new _Teacher Only section will be displayed. Only teachers that have been added as an owner in your Microsoft Teams class will be able to view this section.